Congratulations to Our Green Ribbon Schools

White House Council on Environmental Quality Chair Nancy Sutley, Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Bob Persiacepe, and Deputy Under Secretary of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Janey Thornton joined U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and U.S. Under Secretary of Education Martha Kanter to congratulate the U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools and District Sustainability Awardees on their achievements at a ceremony in Washington, DC. At the event, 64 schools were honored for their exemplary efforts to reduce environmental impact and costs, promote better health, and ensure effective environmental education, including STEM, green careers and civics. In addition, 14 districts were honored for the first-ever District Sustainability Award. Washington DC’s Mundo Verde Public Charter School, Wilson High School, and Washington Yu Ying Public Charter School were among the awardees. OSSE’s School Garden Specialist, Sam Ullery, assisted the local teams in completing the applications.

You can find more about the Green Ribbon Schools and how you can help your school become more sustainable here:

Green Ribbon Award Ceremony


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s